What is the difference between ETIAS and ESTA?

ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center
Many nationals now have visa-free travel to and inside the European Union and Schengen zone. However, with the implementation of the ETIAS, these visa-free travelers will soon be required to seek ETIAS permission before starting on any European journey.

The ETIAS is being implemented to improve European security by determining if an incoming tourist constitutes a criminal, terrorist, or health danger to the European Union and Schengen Zone members. The new travel authorization system will live in 2023 after a six-month testing period. ETIAS clearance will not be required during this time, but it will be starting in early 2023.

The ESTA (which stands for Electronic System for Travel Authorization), like the European ETIAS, is a security measure designed to keep undesired or undesirable visitors out of the United States.

Digital Authorization

ETIAS and ESTA are not visas, as they once were for many travelers to Europe and America. The approval of ETIAS or ESTA is electronically connected to a passport, allowing the holder to visit the appropriate destination country. European and American authorities maintain a list of nations whose citizens are eligible to request travel authorization.

Around 60 countries are currently listed in the EU, while approximately 40 are listed in the American version. Most of the nations on the American listing are European countries, including the UK, which appears on both lists.

While a visa is a tangible document, an ETIAS or ESTA is an electronic linkage to a passport that may be scanned to check the validity of the ESTA or ETIAS application. This makes checking electronic authorization easier, faster, and more reliable than checking a visa.

Another benefit of electronic clearance is the rapidity with which a passport holder’s information can be verified and updated when circumstances change. Still, a visa’s status cannot be checked as quickly.

An applicant must complete an online registration form to receive an ETIAS or ESTA, which needs personal information, including facts about the criminal background or terrorist links and convictions.

ETIAS and ESTA Validity

An ESTA is currently required for entry into the United States. However, an ETIAS is not necessary for travel to Europe. This scenario will change in 2023 when travelers entering ETIAS nations without a visa will be required to get ETIAS.

As previously stated, the application process for both ESTA and ETIAS is quite similar, although there are differences in requirements, validity periods, and expenses.

ETIAS Requirements

  • Applicants must have a recent, valid passport valid for at least three months after the trip dates.
  • Holders can visit the European zone, but each 180-day term is limited to 90 days. The 90 days given may be used all at once or spread out across several journeys only if the total of 90 days is not exceeded.
  • After the date of approval, the ETIAS is valid for three years.

ESTA Requirements

  • The machine needs to be able to read your passport (e-passport) and should be valid for the duration of the stay in the US.
  • ESTA holders are permitted to stay in the United States for 90 days, in one block or multiple visits, beginning on entry. Traveling to Canada, Mexico, and other neighbors is likewise subject to this restriction.
  • An ESTA holder must specify on the registration form that they consent to biometric data collection by US Customs and Border Protection upon arrival.
  • Beginning on the approval date, the ESTA will expire in two years.
Gibraltar is now part of the EU's borderless Schengen zone. Following Brexit, the United Kingdom and Spain negotiated a temporary agreement, which the European Union will develop into a treaty in the following months.
ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center
Citizens of countries that currently enjoy visa-free travel to Europe will be required to apply for and acquire ETIAS permission before starting any European travel in 2023. The European Union maintains a list of approximately sixty countries outside the European Union and Schengen Area currently visa-free in Europe. These nations are now considered "third countries," and people from these countries will need an ETIAS to travel to Europe for any reason or length of time starting in 2023.
ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center
On January 31, 2020, the United Kingdom left the European Union. Before the end of 2020, an 11-month transition period occurred when Brexit took place. The UK and the European Union began a new relationship on January 1, 2021. This article will describe the EU-UK Economic and Cooperation Agreement's essential sections and what they represent for UK people traveling to Europe. On December 24, 2020, the EU-UK Trade Agreement was signed, and it went into force on May 1, 2021. This agreement lays out the terms of the UK-EU partnership after Brexit, including ETIAS short-term travel. The liberties of British nationals working and living in EU nations are also discussed. In addition, the UK has established financial deals with several non-European countries and a trade treaty with the EU.
ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center

    Get Notified!
    Sign up to get notified as soon as ETIAS becomes mandatory for traveling to Europe.
    Your data is in the safe hands. Privacy policy