Entry Requirements for Greece

Entry Requirements for Greece for UK Citizens

This article provides an overview of the entry requirements for UK citizens travelling to Greece. With the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, travel restrictions and entry requirements are subject to change.

When does ETIAS start?

When does ETIAS start?

When does ETIAS start? ETIAS stands for the European Travel Information and Authorization System came in 2021. When ETIAS goes into effect, citizens from 60 eligible countries will need to complete an online application in order to be able to travel visa-free to EU Schengen Zone countries.


Brexit and ETIAS’s Impact on UK Citizens

On January 31, 2020, the United Kingdom left the European Union. Before the end of 2020, an 11-month transition period occurred when Brexit took place. The UK and the European Union began a new relationship on January 1, 2021.
This article will describe the EU-UK Economic and Cooperation Agreement’s essential sections and what they represent for UK people traveling to Europe. On December 24, 2020, the EU-UK Trade Agreement was signed, and it went into force on May 1, 2021.
This agreement lays out the terms of the UK-EU partnership after Brexit, including ETIAS short-term travel. The liberties of British nationals working and living in EU nations are also discussed. In addition, the UK has established financial deals with several non-European countries and a trade treaty with the EU.


ETIAS Application Exceptions for UK Citizens

Citizens of countries that currently enjoy visa-free travel to Europe will be required to apply for and acquire ETIAS permission before starting any European travel in 2025. The European Union maintains a list of approximately sixty countries outside the European Union and Schengen Area currently visa-free in Europe. These nations are now considered “third countries,” and people from these countries will need an ETIAS to travel to Europe for any reason or length of time starting in 2025.


Gibraltar is a Member of the Schengen Zone

Gibraltar is now part of the EU’s borderless Schengen zone. Following Brexit, the United Kingdom and Spain negotiated a temporary agreement, which the European Union will develop into a treaty in the following months.

New Visa Waiver Program

The United Kingdom Unveils a new Visa Waiver Program

After Brexit, the UK’s Conservative government has suggested a US-style visa waiver scheme for EU citizens. EU travelers would be required to register for a digital visa waiver before entering the UK under the updated Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system unveiled by UK Home Secretary Priti Patel on December 2nd, 2019.